Fees-free tertiary education

Update on fees-free tertiary education policy

The Tertiary Education Commission is working closely with the Ministry of Education, the Ministry of Social Development (StudyLink) and Inland Revenue (IR) to implement one of the Government’s "first 100 days" policies for tertiary education: the introduction of one year of fees-free tertiary education.

The changes for 2018 are just the first step in the process as the Government rolls out a full programme of three years’ fees-free tertiary education for New Zealanders by 2024.

We understand that prospective students, their whānau, 'āiga and families, secondary schools and tertiary education organisations (TEOs) want to know details, including how the policy will be implemented and how eligibility will be defined.

Final decisions around details are currently under consideration.

Until then, StudyLink is encouraging students to apply for their tertiary study by 16 December and to provide their supporting documents promptly to ensure their applications are sorted for the start of the 2018 academic year.

TEOs are advised to continue enrolling students using current processes. This includes advising students to continue with their applications for student loans and allowances.

More information

Further information will be made available as soon as possible on:

You can also read:

Updated 21 Nov 2017