Hugh McDougall Rankin Education Scholarship

Related scholarships

On this page

What does the scholarship get me?


Closing dates for applications

Next: 1 March 2022

Annual award closing on 1st march.

Length of award

The tenure of the scholarship is for one year.

Number of awards offered


Purpose of award

For the purposes of providing financial assistance to science students in Christchurch both at the state secondary school and tertiary institution levels.

Selection criteria

The criteria for selection will be hardship; and
b.academic merit(applicants should have a B+ Grade Point Average).

What conditions are attached to acceptance of this award?

Previous recipients may apply if they meet the eligibility criteria. The scholarship is not tenable with any other scholarship, award or bursary.

How do students apply?

You may apply approximately 8 weeks before applications close.
Scholarship Page

How and when do students learn of the decision?

The selection committee may request the applicant to attend an interview
as part of the selection process. The selection committee may refrain from making an award if it finds no candidate of sufficient merit.

Decision makers

The scholarship will be awardedbytheTrustees of the Hugh McDougall Rankin Education Trust, based on a recommendation by a Selection Committee comprising
a.the Vice-Chancellor of the University of Canterbury, or nominee; and
b.the Assistant Vice-Chancellor (Academic) of the University of Canterbury; and
c.the Dean of Science or the Dean of Engineering and Forestry of the University of Canterbury.

History or background of award

Hugh McDougall Rankin, a former prominent Christchurch businessman, established the Hugh McDougall Rankin Education Trust in 2008. Having struggled himself during the Depression of the 1930s to obtain his Food Technology qualifications the donor was especially keen to support students needing financial assistance to obtain tertiary qualifications in the sciences and with the potential to contribute to the technological wealth of New Zealand.

Additional information

- Applicants must be full time students undertaking an undergraduate degree programme in any physical science subject, such as chemistry, physics, biology, engineering, biotechnology, biochemistry, mathematics and applied sciences, who have successfully completed at least one year of tertiary study at Lincoln University, University of Canterbury or CPIT.
- Applicants must have had not less than four years' secondary schooling in one of the
following schools;
Aranui High School, Avonside Girls High School, Burnside High School, Cashmere High School, Christchurch Boys’ High School, Christchurch Girls’ High School, Hagley Community College, Hillmorton High School, Hornby High School, Linwood College, Mairehau High School, Papanui High School, Riccarton High School, Shirley Boys’ High School or any other State secondary school in the Christchurch area established
after the commencement date of this scholarship..
- Applicants must be under the age of 25 years when applying for the scholarship

For guidelines, application forms and more information about this award contact

Mandy Carter
Scholarships Office
Lincoln University
PO Box850 84, Lincoln University, Lincoln , Christchurch 7647, New Zealand
(+64 3 3252 811 ext 8748 or 8582
+64 3 325 3840


Every effort has been made to ensure the above information is current and correct. However, applicants should contact the appropriate administering body before making an application, as details do change frequently. The administrator of this record last updated this information in December 2020.