Watercare/Ghella Abergeldie Engineering Award

Related scholarships

On this page

What does the scholarship get me?


Closing dates for applications

Next: 28 March 2022

28 March 2022

Length of award

One year

Number of awards offered

1 per annum

Purpose of award

This award arises from a generous donation from Watercare with the intention of encouraging more women to pursue a career in Engineering.

Selection criteria

In making this award, the selection committee may give consideration to:
a.     the applicant’s commitment to a career in Engineering;
b.     the applicant’s personal statement (of no more than 500 words) explaining why she has chosen her area of study;
c.      the applicant’s academic record; (for the purpose of this award, academic merit will be assessed from the GPA or GPE obtained over the applicant’s most recent year of graded study (or equivalent);
d.     the applicant’s referee’s report;
e.     the applicant’s need for financial assistance;
f.       any special circumstances, e.g. family responsibilities, leadership potential, considered relevant.

How do students apply?

Students can apply either through the AUT Scholarships portal, or by downloading an application form from https://www.academicdresshire.co.nz/Academic+Awards/Discipline+Specific+and+Other+Awards.html
AUT Application Form

Additional information

Applicants for the Watercare Engineering Award must be:
a.     women;
b.     New Zealand Citizens or Permanent Residents;
c.     enrolled or preparing to enrol full time in Part II/Year 2 of a Bachelor of Engineering(Honours) Degree at the University of Auckland or AUT

For guidelines, application forms and more information about this award contact

Kate Edger Educational Charitable Trust
Private Bag 93208, Parnell, Auckland 1151


Every effort has been made to ensure the above information is current and correct. However, applicants should contact the appropriate administering body before making an application, as details do change frequently. The administrator of this record last updated this information in January 2022.